• Nathaniel Allison Murray Scholarship

    The Brothers of the Omicron Eta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated are proud to announce our Charitable Foundation Scholarship Contest presented by the Omicron Eta Lambda Education Foundation. The Contest will recognize talented students from the District of Columbia who will begin their college education in the fall of 2022. Applications will be available at all District of Columbia High Schools on or before January 1, 2022

    Manly deeds, scholarship, and love for all mankind are the aims of our fraternity. In keeping with the organization’s principles, the Omicron Eta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., annually awards several scholarships to eligible senior high school students [both male and female] enrolled in District of Columbia public schools. One of the scholarships is named after one of the seven founders of Alpha Phi Alpha, Nathaniel A. Murray, who taught at Armstrong Vocational High School in the District of Columbia. 

    We welcome applications from well-rounded young students who have excellent character, proven leadership skills, and demonstrated academic achievement (a cumulative grade point average of 2.50 or greater.)

    Past Scholarship Receipent

    Crystal Harris
    Marquez Moore

    Brian White (Friendship Collegiate Academy)
    Marcus Andrews (School without Walls)
    Debonhei Reed (Anacostia High School)

    Dedric Dowing (Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School)
    Darrick Fleming (Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School)
    Marcelus Newell (Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School) 

    Astra Armstrong 
    Tarrin Weston

    Norris Carey Scholarship: Lonnie Gordon, III
    Jaurvon Johnson Scholarship: Nicholas Henry Hodge

    Daniel Ndgha (Bell Multicultural High School)
    London Hart (SEED Public Charter School)
    Jewel McDonald (Bannekar Academic High School)

    No scholarships were offered in 2020


    Kiarra Belamy (Woodrow Wilson High School)

    Cameron Butler (Benjamin Banneker Academic High School)

    RiNyah Conley (Paul Lawrence Dunbar High School)

    Niara Middlebrooks (Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School)